LinkedIn logo

Are LinkedIn’s updates ultra useful or overly creepy?

June 28, 2013
1,763 Views

LinkedIn logo

LinkedIn launches personalized home page

LinkedIn has added two new features to their site: “Who’s Viewed Your Updates” and “You Recently Visited.” Both of these new features can be found on the right-hand side of the home page and are intended to be a valuable asset for job seekers and those looking to see where their skills are needed or most highly sought after, however, with the simplified snapshot, things get a bit creepy.

In “Who’s Viewed Your Updates,” you will see a snapshot of what you have shared over the past fourteen days (time can be expanded for premium users), who has seen it, and how it has been received (if it was liked or shared). In addition to the information from your 1st degree connections, the snapshot will also show you how many of those members in your 2nd and 3rd degree networks are reading and engaging with what you shared.

Now you have feedback from three different levels, which can be useful, but tracking this information for a full two weeks is a bit creepy, in my opinion.

Not just profiles you’ve visited

The “You Recently Visited” feature includes searches you have done, group discussions you have looked at, and recent profiles you may have viewed. This is supposed to make it easier to find a connection you forgot to add, follow-up with a conversation, or find that old friend you came across; however, one cannot help but wonder, is this just LinkedIn’s way of keeping up with how effective their own connections are?

These two new features are the latest in a series of updates. LinkedIn has also added a new streamlined navigation, making it easier to locate features, as well as, the ability to share media. And you can also mention a first degree connection in your updates, keeping you even more connected (and even more trackable).

With any networking site there is the possibility for the features to become a bit too involved, but, you simply need to weigh the benefits against the worries of being tracked and deeply “connected.”

potluck
Potluck: the newest social network on the block Potluck has created a social networking environment that takes the pressure off of individual people and places the focus on shared interests. In the default view, the “Friend Activity Feed,” you will not see the name of whomever posts a link, nor…
ikea paper shop
IKEA Paper Shop line launches abroad IKEA has branched out into the world of paper products with their new Paper Shop. The line includes gift bags, wrapping paper, paper clips, boxes, notebooks, cards, etc. In partnership with another Swedish company, Kollo, IKEA is staying true to its simple contemporary style,…

Jennifer Walpole is a Senior Staff Writer at The American Genius and holds a Master's degree in English from the University of Oklahoma. She is a science fiction fanatic and enjoys writing way more than she should. She dreams of being a screenwriter and seeing her work on the big screen in Hollywood one day.

1 Comments

  1. Wow, that is a bit creepy. It’s like a breadcrumb trail of all your LinkedIn activity. What if an employer sees it? Or a prospective client? Why do social media networks continue to push the privacy issue beyond its limits? Is it for profits? How does tracking all that information help the end user at all? I see nothing but a downside personally. Great post Jennifer!

Leave A Comment