Android, Blackberry and Windows phone users rejoice
We write about a lot of mobile apps here at AGBeat, but we don’t always keep them on our phones for a variety of reasons, but one app that we all have on our phones and have kept is MyLookout which is a mobile security app that has free and pro levels.
The app is available for Android, Blackberry and Windows and was named one of PC World’s Top 100 tech products. The reason we love the app is because our phones contain so much personal information and information about our business that in the wrong hands could be easily manipulated to be an identity theft goldmine, just like any smartphone. Essentially, Americans are using phones as computers and placing fairly personal and professionally sensitive information in the gadgets without a thought.
Missing device- our favorite feature
The Lookout app has a “scream” feature for when your phone is lost or stolen. When you realize your device is gone, you can log on to a computer or any browser and log in to your Lookout account and click “locate” at which time it begins a VERY VERY LOUD scream and simultaneously shows you on a map where your device is with extreme accuracy. You won’t know where in a building it is, but you’ll know what building it is in. Cool, huh?
You can’t afford to replace your personal information even if you can replace your device, but what about all that personal information that’s gone? If you have a premium account, you can lock your phone from anyone using it. Also in the premium account is the ability to wipe your phone. It will delete your contacts, photos, browser history (ahem, passwords), user accounts (like Twitter and Facebook, ahem, passwords), text messages, your settings and even the SD card which people use frequently for data transport between smartphone and computer.
Although there are quite a few features that are exciting, the last one we’ll share with you is the backup feature which is useful regardless of whether or not your device is missing. Your data on your phone can be backed up in the cloud with the app without you having to do anything other than set it up to sync automatically. The system is encrypted and only you can see your data.