Connect with us

Coaching

Embed Docs In Your Blog

Published

on

docstoc.com, you’ll love it!


DocStoc.com

DocStoc is a cool way to share documents but the neat trick is to load a document onto your blog (here is a sample article showing how the embedded document looks… cool, huh?). It’s also another way for social networking – yikes. Another one! There’s a Profile button at the top to take you to a page where you can add your photo and various other information about your business and yourself. There you can add your LinkedIn and Facebook profiles as well as your blog info.


docstoc-profile.jpg


There are all sorts of ways to search for documents; by category, most viewed, most downloaded, etc. You can also put documents into a folder just like you would with My Documents.

What Now?

So join docstoc and let’s get to the good stuff!

On your Profile page below your picture you’ll find your document list. Click on the document you want to put on your blog, click on the Embed button on the right. A window will open with the code needed.

Now go to your wordpress blog. Click on Profile. Uncheck the box next to Use the visual editor when writing. Then click Update Profile.

Click on Write.

Flip back to the open window at DocStoc that has the emedding code. Copy it.

Back to WordPress. Click on Code. Paste the code you’ve just copied from DocStoc. Click Code again. Abracadabra! You’ve done it! You have now embedded a document into your article that readers can scroll through or even print from your own page. Now, people can distribute copies of your document around the office, you won’t have to copy and paste your document into a wordpress blog, AND you’ll look super smart because you can embed documents into your blog!


Just For You…

Here is an embedded document made just for you so you can have the instructions on how to use DocStoc AND see what it looks like in an article (click the word “docstoc” on the top left for emailing or embedding options or simply print by clicking the grey arrows on the right):


Instructions on Using DocStoc Embedding in WordPress - Get more Free Whitepapers

As a lifelong resident and local Realtor, Vicki has established herself as a respected member of the San Mateo County real estate community. She’s known for her wit, sarcasm, and her personality that shows through in her posts. You can find her spouting off at Twitter, here at ag, and her personal blog, San Mateo Real Estate Blog.com.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
13 Comments

13 Comments

  1. Ines

    May 23, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Vicki! you techie goddess you! this is a really great tool – I will go check it out and see how I can put it to use. you are DA WOMAN! (after me of course) 😉

  2. Mariana Wagner

    May 23, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    Way Cool … I am so using this now. Thank you!

  3. Bill Lublin

    May 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Vicki-
    I haven’t started using this but that’s only because I am typing to the woman Ines (Goddess of South Beach and all things Miami) calls “Techie Goddess” – Too handy for me since I’m in the middle of assembling a Social Media course. What a great tool.
    Thanks. Thanks. Thanks.
    What a great tool –

  4. Jamie Geiger

    May 24, 2008 at 2:17 am

    I looked at this a while ago, so I think it is worth a second look. Thanks!!

  5. Jason

    May 24, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Vicki,

    thanks for sharing that information about docstoc, its users like you that really make our community run. You may just find yourself featured on our home page pretty soon… 🙂

    please say hi anytime

    Jason (co-founder, docstoc)

  6. Matthew Rathbun

    May 24, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Awesome! I was up tlll midnight playing with the site after you introduced it not to long ago. It was funny to wake up this morning and see a how-to on what I was scratching my head over last night.

    Great job!!!

  7. Matthew Rathbun

    May 24, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Jason,

    I am having some issues with embedding this in WP.com. WP.org and Typepad seem to work great. I’ve been searching around for answers, and can’t seem to get it to work. Is there a way to show the “window in window” effect in WP.com?

  8. Mark Eckenrode

    May 24, 2008 at 10:03 am

    great tool. i’d been using https://www.scribd.com which is slightly different but similar, however the interface to dotstoc is much nicer. thanks for digging through the internet and pulling this one out

  9. Vicki Moore

    May 24, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Super glad you all like it. I’d love to see how you put it to use.

    Come back with your links so we can all take a peek!!

    Jason – I’ve always wanted to be a cover girl. 🙂

  10. Ken Smith

    May 25, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Thanks for sharing. That is a neat little tool.

  11. Dan Nappi

    June 6, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Thanks for sharing this I will go and check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Coaching

Disputing a property’s value in a short sale: turn a no into a go

During a short sale, there may be various obstacles, with misaligned property values ranking near the top, but it doesn’t have to be a dealbreaker!

Published

on

magic eight ball

magic eight ball

It’s about getting your way

Were you on the debate team in high school? Were you really effective at convincing your parent or guardian to let you do things that you shouldn’t have been doing? How are your objection-handling skills? Can you flip a no into a go?

When working on short sales, there is one aspect of the process that may require those excellent negotiation or debate skills: disputing the property value. In a short sale, the short sale lender sends an appraiser or broker to the property and this individual conducts a Broker Price Opinion or an appraisal, using special forms provided by the short sale lender.

After this individual completes the Broker Price Opinion or the appraisal, he or she will return it to the short sale lender. Shortly thereafter, the short sale lender will be ready to talk about the purchase price. Will the lender accept the offer on the table or is the lender looking for more? If the lender is seeking an offer for a lot more than the one on the table, mentally prepare for the fact that you will need to conduct a value dispute.

Value Dispute Process

While each of the different short sale lenders (including Fannie Mae) has their own policies and procedures for value dispute, all these procedures have some things in common. Follow the steps below in order to conduct an effective value dispute.

  1. Inquire about forms. Ask your short sale lender if there are specific forms that you need to complete in order to conduct a value dispute. Obtain those forms if necessary.
  2. Gather information. Your goal is to convince the lender to accept the buyer’s offer, so you need to demonstrate that your offer is in line with the value of the property. Collect data that proves this point, such as reports from the MLS, Trulia, Zillow, or your local title company.
  3. Take photos. If there are parts of the property that are substandard and possibly were not revealed to the lender by the individual conducting the BPO, take photos of those items. Perhaps the kitchen has no flooring, or there is a 40-year old roof. Take photos to demonstrate these defects.
  4. Obtain bids. For any defects on the property, obtain a minimum of two bids from licensed contractors. For example, obtain two bids from roofers or structural engineers if necessary
  5. Write a report. Think back to high school English class if necessary. Write a short essay that references your information, photos, and bids, and explains how these items support your buyer’s value. This is not something that you whip up in five minutes. Spend time preparing a compelling appeal.

It is entirely possible that some lenders will not be particularly open-minded when it comes to valuation dispute. However, more times than not, an effective value dispute leads to short sale approval.

Continue Reading

Coaching

Short sale standoffs: how to avoid getting hit

The short sale process can feel a lot like a wild west standoff, but there are ways to come out victorious, so let’s talk about those methods:

Published

on

short sales standoff

short sales standoff

What is a short sale standoff?

If you are a short sale listing agent, a short sale processor, or a short sale negotiator then you probably already know about the short sale standoff. That’s when you are processing a short sale with more than one lien holder and neither will agree to the terms offered by the other. Or… better yet, each one will not move any further in the short sale process until they see the short sale approval letter from the other lien holder.

Scenario #1 – You are processing a short sale with two different mortgage-servicing companies. Bank 1 employees tell you that they will proceed with the short sale, and they will offer Bank 2 a certain amount to release their lien. You call Bank 2 and tell them the good news. Unfortunately, the folks at Bank 2 want more money. If Bank 1 and Bank 2 do not agree, then you are in a standoff.

Scenario #2 – You are processing a short sale with two different mortgage-servicing companies. Bank 1 employees tell you that they cannot generate your approval letter until you present them with the approval letter from Bank 2. Bank 2 employees tell you the exact same thing. Clearly, in this situation, you are in a standoff.

How to Avoid the Standoff

If you are in the middle of a standoff, then you are likely very frustrated. You’ve gotten pretty far in the short sale process and you are likely receiving lots of pressure from all of the parties to the transaction. And, the lenders are not helping much by creating the standoff.

Here are some ideas for how to get out of the situation:

  • Go back to the first lien holder and ask them if they are willing to give the second lien holder more money.
  • Go to the second lien holder and tell them that the first lien holder has insisted on a maximum amount and see if they will budge.
  • If no one will budge, find out why. Is this a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loan? If so, they have a maximum that they allow the second. And, if you alert the second of that information, they may become more compliant.
  • Worst case: someone will have to pay the difference. Depending on the laws in your state, it could be the buyer, the seller, or the agents (yuck). No matter what, make sure that this contribution is disclosed to all parties and appears on the short sale settlement statement at closing.
  • In Scenario #2, someone’s got to give in. Try explaining to both sides where you are and see if one will agree to generate their approval letter. If not, follow the tips provided in this Agent Genius article and take your complaint to the streets.

One thing about short sales is that the problems that arise can be difficult to resolve merely because of the number of parties involved—and all from remote locations. Imagine how much easier this would be if all parties sat at the same table and broke bread? If we all sat at the same table, then we wouldn’t need armor in order to avoid the flying bullets from the short sale standoff.

Continue Reading

Coaching

Short sale approval letters don’t arrive in the blink of an eye

Short sale approval letters may look like they’ve been obtained simply by experts, but it takes time and doesn’t just happen with luck.

Published

on

short sales

short sale approval

Short sale approval: getting prepared, making it happen

People always ask me how it is that I obtain short sale approval letters with such ease. The truth is, that while I have more short sale processing and negotiating experience than most agents and brokers, I don’t just blink my eyes like Jeannie and make those short sale approval letters appear. I often sweat it, just like everyone else.

Despite the fact that I do not have magical powers, I do have something else on my side—education. One of the most important things than can lead to short sale success for any and all agents is education.

Experience dictates that agents that learn about the short sale process
have increased short sale closings.

Short sale education opportunities abound

There are many ways to become educated about the short sale process and make getting short sale approval letters look easy to obtain. These include:

  • Classes at your local board of Realtors®
  • Free short sale webinars and workshops
  • The short sale or foreclosure specialist designations

As the distressed property arena grows and changes, it is important to always stay abreast of policy changes that may impact how you do your job and how you process any short sale that lands on your plate.

The most important thing to do is to read, read, read. Follow short sale specialists and those who blog about short sales on AGBeat, Google+, facebook, and twitter. Set up a Google Alert for the term ‘short sale’ and you will receive Google’s top short sale picks daily in your email inbox. Visit mortgagor websites to read up on their specific policies and procedures.

Don’t take on too much

And, when you get a call from a prospective short sale seller, make sure that you don’t bit off more than you can chew. Agents in most of America right now are clamoring for listings since we are in the midst of a listing shortage. But, if you are going to take on a short sale, be sure that it is a deal that you can close. And, if you have your doubts, why not partner up with a local agent that can mentor your and assist you in getting the job done? After all, half a commission check is better than none!

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Our Great Partners

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Emerging Stories

Get The American Genius
neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to get business and tech updates, breaking stories, and more!