Connect with us

Highlights

Dwellicious – Bookmark Property Listings Socially

Published

on

Organize, Share, Discuss, Dwellicious


At first glance, we had the impression that Dwellicious was a content bookmarker like Digg, but we were delightfully surprised to learn we were wrong on a massive scale.

Dwellicious is a property listings bookmarking site that allows not only agents, but home buyers and sellers to bookmark properties and share them and their thoughts with the world, creating a unique and diverse discussion about their new home prospects.

Intrigued? We Were.


Upon my first visits to the new beta site, it was very easy to to overlook the power of the site and just how much information a single listing held. By clicking into the title, you’re instantly off to the listing’s origination source, however, if you click on “View Details,” you’re presented with a wide array of detail options on more than just the home.

10 Tabs To Love


Over eight APIs are built into the property displays dashboard that give the real estate consumer a wide range of information by some of real estate’s biggest names. Zillow, Cyberhomes, Education.com, Walkscore.com (my personal favorite), and Panoramio by Google, not to mention Google Maps and Streetview, so let’s dig in…

Sharing


Share listings on Facebook, Myspace, and your wordpress blog instantly – consumers can show off properties they like, and so can you.

Property Valuations


Consumers get two digital valuations of the home’s pricing to compare to the agent’s, and it’s very simple and straight forward.

Comparables


Home enthusiasts get instant neighborhood comparables to go on, giving them insight into the neighborhood and its selling history.

Demographics


If a buyer wants to know the demographic makeup of the neighborhood, a simple click gives instant data where available.

Schools, Schools, Schools


Obviously a buyer or two might want some school information, and while they’re at it, they’ll get the school’s phone number and its distance.

Walk Score


Everyone wants to know what’s around the neighborhood when it comes to eats, drinks, things to do, and groceries, and if it’s close enough to walk – this feature is a brilliant addition.

Survey SAYS… PICTURES!


We all love those beautiful photos of the homes, but we also love area photos from all over like things other people found interesting, and now they are shared through Dwellicious using Panoramio- nice.

There’s More Coming

Currently in Beta, Dwellicious is operating at a basic level collecting feedback through beta users, but very soon, Dwellicious will launch an incredible suite of agent tools for the pro addition. The pay model will allow agents to get even more intimate in the discussion with buyers and sellers that we’ll review in the next week.

Why We Like Dwellicious

We like it because it’s a consumer platform first, a conversation model second, and a lead tool third. It really puts into perspective what is most important in our industry and it doesn’t exclude the professional. In fact, it asks the professional to participate in that neighborhood experts can reign supreme, listing agents hand this to sellers that want to actively participate, and even more, the pro suite will give you (the agent) insight into how often your bookmarks are viewed, shared, and more.

Rumors

We hear rumors of a pay as you go Pro Plan that tosses out the idea of long term contracts- Genius like! Also, private party rumors are circling for Inman NYC, as well as some kick ass swag… we all love swag.

Launch Dates

It’s set to officially launch on January 7, 2009 from Inman NYC, and details are still coming out little by little, but for now we’ve been given 10 Beta Accounts to give away, just mention Agent Genius.

Add Dan & Greg on Twitter @dwellicious for more updates, and check back with Ag for more private invitations.

Benn Rosales is the Founder and CEO of The American Genius (AG), national news network for tech and entrepreneurs, proudly celebrating 10 years in publishing, recently ranked as the #5 startup in Austin. Before founding AG, he founded one of the first digital media strategy firms in the nation and also acquired several other firms. His resume prior includes roles at Apple and Kroger Foods, specializing in marketing, communications, and technology integration. He is a recipient of the Statesman Texas Social Media Award and is an Inman Innovator Award winner. He has consulted for numerous startups (both early- and late-stage), has built partnerships and bridges between tech recruiters and the best tech talent in the industry, and is well known for organizing the digital community through popular monthly networking events. Benn does not venture into the spotlight often, rather believes his biggest accomplishments are the talent he recruits, develops, and gives all credit to those he's empowered.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
17 Comments

17 Comments

  1. Steve Krzysiak

    November 24, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    One of my bookmarks is in the first screen cap! I just bookmarked that today :p

    Thanks for the informative post on Dwellicious. I have high hopes for that site, we can only hope people adopt the concept!

  2. Gina Kay Landis

    November 24, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Sounds good from the start – however my information from companies notes that they are often not willing to share their listings just anywhere on the web, as sites with whom they don’t currently contract for the feed can then demand the feed. So conceptually, if someone shares a listing on MySpace, couldn’t MySpace then demand the entire feed from that company?

  3. Jon McAchran

    November 24, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    First, thank you for featuring my listing (415 Dune Street – above) in your analysis of Dwellicious. Maybe it’s a small thing, but it was exciting to see that small detail when I was reading the post.

    Second, I just got access to Dwellicious today and can’t say enough good things about it. Very impressed and anxious to see these rumored Pro features. And I’d love to see a co-branded version for agents, categories (for bookmarked properties) that each have their own RSS feed, and more social sharing options.

  4. Benn Rosales

    November 24, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    “And I’d love to see a co-branded version for agents”

    This I can confirm is happening.

    Also, you’re welcome on using your listing in the the review…

  5. Benn Rosales

    November 24, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    “I have high hopes for that site, we can only hope people adopt the concept”

    I really think they will, especially since it’s bundled with so many platforms- there are so many avenues in which it can gain traction.

  6. Vicki Moore

    November 24, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    This is way cool. I’ve been waiting for someone to pull all of this stuff together. They’re going to be a hit and fast.

  7. Dan Woolley

    November 25, 2008 at 8:47 am

    @Jon McAchran – Thanks for the suggestions.

    ‘…categories (for bookmarked properties) that each have their own RSS feed…’

    You can do this now:
    1. Tag your listings using descriptive keywords. You might tag homes for the Smiths with ‘Smith’ and beach homes ‘beach’. You can use multiple tags per listing.

    2. Filter your bookmarks by tag using the tag list on the right.

    3. Click on the orange RSS Feed icon. That will give you a unique feed of all the tags you’ve chosen.

    Best thing is that any new listings you bookmark with those tags will automatically appear in the feed, as will any comment, price, photo, or status updates! That’s the power of ‘smart bookmarks’. You can subscribe to the feed, but even better – your clients (the Smiths) can subscribe to the feed – an automatically updated custom feed for each client!

  8. teresa boardman

    November 25, 2008 at 9:02 am

    but . . . will consumers use it?

  9. D. Patrick Lewis

    November 25, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I just sent the email for my beta invite, I am very excited to try this site out. Especially because it is a consumer site first, that is where most of these sites miss the boat. Thanks AG!

  10. JustinLoans

    November 25, 2008 at 9:07 am

    This is a great concept and a no brainer to the Real Estate World. Its not question that Social Media is moving up in ranks and should go well hand in hand with the Real Estate world. Can’t wait to see some good results.

  11. Jon McAchran

    November 25, 2008 at 9:22 am

    @Dan Woolley – Thanks, that’s exactly what I was looking for. Can’t wait for your launch… already very impressed!

  12. Jim Reppond

    November 25, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Benn,
    I just posted my own review of this cool application. I tried not to duplicate too much of what you have here, and referenced this blog for more detail.

    https://www.theseattlespecialist.com/seattle-real-estate/dwellicious-new-real-estate-listing-bookmarker-and-social-media-site

  13. Jim Gatos

    November 26, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Great! Just one more “service” to pay for…

    When does the “madness” stop? LOL…

  14. Jim Gatos

    November 26, 2008 at 4:33 am

    LOL.. I just read all about it, I can’t “use” it; it’s in beta and I have to wait until January..

    I do see potential here and I like the concept. Actually I think this makes more sense than anything else I’ve seen, let’s just see what their pay scheme will be. I try very hard to have some profit at the end of the year LOL…

  15. Chris Shouse

    November 26, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Looks very interesting. Will give it a try. As usual AG on the cutting edge! Thanks AG
    Chris

  16. Missy Caulk

    November 28, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Benn, do you have anymore invites left. I would like to play with this with my buyer hat on. Your tutorial looks good.

  17. Benn Rosales

    November 28, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Missy (and all), just tell them Ag sent you, demand often times forces exceptions =]

    I think they’re excited for the buzz, especially if you write about them on your blog or twitter (about) them…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Business Marketing

“House has spark” – burning up the MLS with typos and other bloopers

Published

on

The year is starting a march toward its natural ending, friends…and it seems a few real estate careers may be also. This week I found some real head-scratchers in local real estate ads and the MLS.  However, I get submissions from all over the U.S., so no one is safe from the eyes of  the Blooper Scooper. Check out these blunders:

Do You Smell Smoke?

“House has spark” (Apparently your real estate career isn’t the only thing going up in smoke.)

“Big pep area in kitchen” (Is that the cookie jar where Mommy Dearest stashes her uppers?) 

“Dull Viking ovens” (Methinks there’s something in the cookie jar that will perk up those dull Vikings.)

“Large greenhose in back” (Large, naked Jolly Green Giant in yard.)

“Mush added to this house” (Was that the overflow from between your ears?)

I Think I See Flames

“Beautifully remolded guest” (Another cosmetically-altered Barbie hits the Hollywood party circuit.)

“Enjoy a drink poolslide” ( Hell, if the pool is sliding, I’ll need a whole pint of Jack.)

“Each bedroom has own bedrooom” (Hello-o-o, Alice, how are things down there in the rabbit hole?)

“Separate pod to build GH” (That should please my pea-sized buyers.)

“Play room for the kiss” (Something tells me this is the back seat of a ’67 Chevy.)

Still Smoldering…

“Ideal for gusts” (That’s great…if you want to live in a wind sock.)

“Impaccably detailed” (Incredibly challenged)

“Stylish pewder room” (Try burning a match.)

“Stone pillars flake driveway” (Flakey agent got stoned in driveway.)

Nothing But Embers (This Week’s Fave):

“From a bygone error” (You have just written your own epitaph.)

 

 

Continue Reading

Business Marketing

“New bd pans inc” – Making a Splash on the MLS

Published

on

I have two things to say this week: 1. When you drink, you can’t think. 2. When you drink you can’t- … uh, what was I saying? Oh, yes – the MLS.  It was so full of bloopers this week that I am led to conclude that happy hour started Monday and never stopped. Read these and tell me if it is any wonder I was driven to throw back a few martinis myself:

Booze ‘N’ Fools

“Free membership to gin inc” (It seems someone else beat us to it, Martini Mary.)

“Grab now use imagination” (That’s what Arnold said to his housekeeper.)

“House has new edition” (Agent lacks erudition.)

“Babblying broke runs in back” (Bumbling buffoon runs amuck.)

“Drop by for cocktail ho” (Oh, is the Sunset Strip for sale?)

Puff ‘N’ Stuff

“Near Sacramento airpot” (I believe his name is Jerry Brown.)

“Claw me for selling” (I’m too busy clawing my eyes out over your spelling.)

“Reduction on mid-century ner Holywod” (Another mid-sixties porn star is looking for work.)

“We can sake your home” (Can I get fried rice with my sake?)

Proof or Goof

“Nice streem” (Said Grandma to Grandpa after his diaper  exploded.)

“Nice for dog kids” (Uh, they’re called ‘puppies,” pal.)

“New bd pans included” (Thank you, Nurse Nancy – can you warm those first?)

“Good stable in neighborhood.” (Have you contacted Mary and Joseph?)

“Drawing for plasma” (Is this a blood-bank?)

And This Week’s Winner Is:

“Good school in areola” (Thanks for keeping me abreast of things.)

PROOF OR GOOF, FRIENDS – I’M WATCHING EWE 🙂

Continue Reading

Highlights

My secret office organization tip – Sharpies and tape

If you’re still practicing to be OCD, here is a secret I don’t typically share with anyone, but I’m willing to share with you today…

Published

on

Keeping organized

I used to be obsessed with the P-touch machine. I labeled everything. Drawers, shelves, folders, canisters, and anything that I could think of putting a label on.

But the label makers weren’t as pretty as my own handwriting and didn’t come in every color a Sharpie does, so I got the brilliant idea one day to write in light blue sharpie in my beautiful handwriting on clear tape, placed neatly on the shelves in the pantry. Visitors thought I had written on the cabinets, “what if you have to move things?” they asked. “It’s just tape, look!” I said as if I was performing a complicated magic trick.

Not just shelves!

It’s great to use this tip on files and folders so you can reuse them (especially if you have custom files or designer files), on drawers at the bottom of each section where pens and tape goes, and especially in the break room.

No more label maker, no more refill cartridges and no more mess, especially someone else’s mess! Trust me, this is an OCD person’s dream organizing tip!

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Our Great Partners

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Emerging Stories

Get The American Genius
neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to get business and tech updates, breaking stories, and more!