Connect with us

Product Review

Not The Queen

Published

on

make-use-of.jpg


Crown Another

I am so far from being the queen of geeks; I’m not even on the same planet as these brainiacs. It was thrilling a couple of weeks ago to help a fellow networker get her LinkedIn profile started, but I still wasn’t disillusioned about my technical abilities.

Serious Risk Ahead

I’m risking my reputation here announcing a super cool website I found by looking at a list some smart person created of super cool websites. Some may think I have it all figured out – NOT – just because I was lucky enough to land here. And I may be letting the cat out of the bag by saying that MakeUseOf is outstanding. If you didn’t already know that, then ignore what I just said. If you did already know that, you can chuckle in the corner. They make their topics understandable for someone like me who doesn’t understand much.

Baby Steps

I’ve taken baby steps by learning how to set up a blog on WordPress – although currently I’m fighting with the dang thing to upload this totally awesome banner that was made for me. And I continue to dabble here and there to figure it all out. When they say world wide web, they ain’t kidding. It’s a web of a mess that I get stuck in for hours at a time.

It’s Just Time

Hours and hours of it. So give yourself a research break and get some of the answers you didn’t know you had questions to over at MakeUseOf.

As a lifelong resident and local Realtor, Vicki has established herself as a respected member of the San Mateo County real estate community. She’s known for her wit, sarcasm, and her personality that shows through in her posts. You can find her spouting off at Twitter, here at ag, and her personal blog, San Mateo Real Estate Blog.com.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Lani Anglin-Rosales

    April 10, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    This may come as a major shocker, but I haven’t heard of this site before- thanks for finding such a good catch, I’ll add it to the ol’ feed reader!

    I love this line:

    “get some of the answers you didn’t know you had questions to”

  2. Vicki Moore

    April 10, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    lol. Great! They have so much stuff on there, it’ll take awhile to get through it all.

  3. Teresa Boardman

    April 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Honestly I don’t think agents need to know anything about technology to have a blog. Blogs are about writing.

  4. Lani Anglin-Rosales

    April 10, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Aesthetically pleasing or unique blogs need a touch of technical know-how. And even if it didn’t, isn’t technology knowledge fun?? (did my geek side just come out? get back in there, GeekLani and don’t come out until I’ve told you to!)

  5. Benn Rosales

    April 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I agree with Teresa that to be a great agent technology is not key- but your willingness to learn and research new solutions that may be of use or benefit to your consumers experience elevates you as a dedicated advocate. I do not suspect all agents will learn everything about everything, some will simply hire it out and that’s okay too. Great find Vicki!

  6. Marc K

    April 10, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    This is one of my favorite sites. I will resist my urge to chuckle in corner.

  7. Larry Yatkowsky

    April 10, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Vicki

    “The medium is the message” is a phrase coined by Marshall McLuhan meaning that the form of a medium imbeds itself in the message, creating a symbiotic relationship by which the medium influences how the message is perceived, creating subtle change over time.
    Taking time to build your own site while fun can be exasperating and debilitating. Hire a pro to help you with the medium. For a few dollars their training and experience will vastly extend and influence the message you want percieved.

  8. Vicki Moore

    April 11, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Teresa – I agree with your point about writing. But if it’s not being seen, the writing gets awfully frustrating.

    Lani – I think it’s way fun too. But like Larry said, it’s a bit much. I have to decide where I’m going to put my time: real estate or the tech world.

    Mark K – 🙂 Gotta love those brainiacs.

    Larry – You get a big “yes-sir-ree” from me. I went to a networking function the other night and realized that there are much less expensive alternatives outside the world that services realtors.

  9. Bill Lublin

    April 14, 2008 at 6:32 am

    You may not be the Queen of Geeks, but you can at least be the princess! 🙂
    Thanks for the great link – and the insght

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Housing News

Avoid Blah-Blah Conversation With This Voicemail Cloaking Device

Published

on

Please Dear Lord, Don’t Let Them Pick Up, So I Can Leave A Voice Mail and Make A Quick Get Away.

You know those times when you have to return a phone call, share an update, remind someone about something?  And those times where there’s no getting around it, you have to make the call and deliver your message, but you’re short on time, patience, courage, or ___________?

Guess What? I Have Good News For You.

There’s an App. for that, and it’s called SlyDial.  At the Inman Reboot event in HoustonChris with TechSavvyAgent dropped this cloaking device on us.  Basically, SlyDial is a clever smart phone tool.

SlyDial allows you to make a call from your cell phone to their cell phone, but their cell phone won’t ring. Instead of their phone ringing, SlyDial lets you dial directly into their voice mail, and leave a message. Yeah, that’s right, call directly into their voice mail, and their phone doesn’t ring. Check it out, it probably works on your smart phone.

You can get more details and info here.  The App. is free and straight forward.  It looks like the picture below when it’s launched on the iPhone4.

It’s that simple.  Good luck with it.  I was wondering in which situations you’d use something like this?

Thanks for reading.  Cheers.

Photo Credit

PS.  fyi, I don’t work for, nor am I in any way associated with, employed by, or even know anyone at SlyDial.  In other words, there’s nothing in for me by saying nice things about SlyDial, except the pleasure of telling you about a tool you might find handy.

Continue Reading

Product Review

New Realtor.com iPhone App

Published

on

Realtor.com launched their new iPhone application and gave a few of us the chance to play with it and tear it to pieces before the launch (maybe they didn’t quite put it that way, but it’s the way I’m approaching it).

When I first open these new apps, I always think of the intent and this one is pretty obvious.  The Realtor.com iphone app iss totally and completely designed with the end consumer in mind (sorry Realtors if you thought it could be about you).  It’s about providing the latest property information in the quickest, easiest and most user friendly fashion possible.

When you open the app, a home screen gives you several options, including searching for nearby homes for sale, nearby open houses or perform a new search by location or MLS ID.  You can allow for the app to use your current location and it actually gives you nearby listings currently for sale (also giving you the option to narrow down your criteria).  This can be really cool if you are driving in a neighborhood and just want to get property information without having to even get out of the car or make a phone call.  (Bad for agents that rely on the client to actually make that call to capture their business).

Realtor.com iphone app screen shot

You can view a map option or a list option of properties and are able to actually click on any given one and get detailed information, not only on the property, but also the listing agent and the brokerage (very similar to what you see on Realtor.com).  You can scroll through photos of the listing and turn the phone to get bigger photos and you can save the property and include notes to go with it.

Realtor.com iPhone app screenshot

What’s even more fascinating is the option to contact the listing agent on the spot.  You can call them by clicking on their telephone number, you can email them,  visit their site and add them to your contacts.  (I know I’m an over achiever, but wouldn’t it be cool if you could tweet or facebook them as well?).

Realtor.com iphone application
My favorite feature is the “drive around and use your location” to find listings – but you can also enter an address for a particular listing and/or its surrounding competitors and even enter the MLS number.

Great move on Realtor.com to empower the consumer.  Personally, an educated consumer is the best one in my book, but here’s the beef many will have…You can now say “Buh Bye” to Buyers’ Agents, with this app, listing agents will have the upper hand – this will give quick and easy information to the local consumer (not the end for those buyers agents that work with absentee and relocating clients).

Problem?

I can now see me getting bombarded by calls from people who “forget” to tell me they are working with another agent and just wanted quick info.  I can also see my clients calling other agents just because their information was handy.  We’ll just have to see how this extra communication tool will evolve….it could be detrimental for many.

The question of who does Realtor.com work for will inevitably come up.  Many will criticize this as a tool of disintermediation, but if we are smart, we will not only know how to use this information in our favor, but we will welcome it with open arms.  I do wonder if it could be possible to personalize this particular iphone app for a fee so that Realtors can offer it to their clients (of course I would try to come up with a win-win for everyone).

For now it’s time for everyone to make sure their contact information is correct on their listings, and especially Realtor.com.  Listing agents will have the ability to answer inquiries on the spot, staying above the competition with customer service always at the top of the priority list.

And for the record, I’m not associated with Realtor.com, so feel free to kill it if you have the itch.

Continue Reading

Product Review

Desktop Analytics – Polaris

Published

on

Keeping Track

polaris2 I’m a big fan of keeping a pulse on the health of my blogs and sites.  Polaris has released a desktop application that allows you to keep track of your Google Analytics, on your desktop. 

The free version only allows monitoring from one account, while the $15/year version will allow multiple accounts.

The system features are very easy to setup and it works on the AIR installation system, which most of us already have with the Twitter apps.  It was quick to download and install. 

 

Polaris shows total visits, pageviews, activities by date, visits statistics and tons more.  Essentially anything that you would benefit from in Google Analytics, but on the desktop.

newpolaris

The current product is cool, but the company is also advertising some interesting upcoming products.

    • Dopac
      • Dopac is our flagship web analytics solution that brings Google Analytics to your desktop with a host of new features and possibilities. Based on the success and experience of our previously released beta product, the “Google Analytics Reporting Suite”, Dopac takes the original experience to the next level and brings a lot of new concepts to the table.
    • Rayet
      • Rayet is our strange kid on the block. It’s experimental, funky and fun!
        With Rayet we are aiming to make web analytics reporting smarter. Instead of generating a lot of good looking graphs and charts Rayet will cut to the chase and analyze your data for you. Rayet will give you suggestions on how to improve your website experience based on the analytical data available. By comparing different time samples it will tell what works and what doesn’t. Being in very early development there’s currently no release date planned yet.
    • Phobia
      • Phobia is made for one single purpose; impress your boss, client or anyone else you need to suck up to. It gives you data ownership by allowing you to export or synchronize your data in any given format. Anything from smart looking spreadsheets, pretty PDF’s or entertaining presentations is entirely possible! More info on features and release will be up here soon.

       

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Our Great Partners

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Emerging Stories

Get The American Genius
neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to get business and tech updates, breaking stories, and more!