Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The American GeniusThe American Genius

Product Review

Not The Queen

make-use-of.jpg


Crown Another

I am so far from being the queen of geeks; I’m not even on the same planet as these brainiacs. It was thrilling a couple of weeks ago to help a fellow networker get her LinkedIn profile started, but I still wasn’t disillusioned about my technical abilities.

Serious Risk Ahead

I’m risking my reputation here announcing a super cool website I found by looking at a list some smart person created of super cool websites. Some may think I have it all figured out – NOT – just because I was lucky enough to land here. And I may be letting the cat out of the bag by saying that MakeUseOf is outstanding. If you didn’t already know that, then ignore what I just said. If you did already know that, you can chuckle in the corner. They make their topics understandable for someone like me who doesn’t understand much.

Baby Steps

I’ve taken baby steps by learning how to set up a blog on WordPress – although currently I’m fighting with the dang thing to upload this totally awesome banner that was made for me. And I continue to dabble here and there to figure it all out. When they say world wide web, they ain’t kidding. It’s a web of a mess that I get stuck in for hours at a time.

It’s Just Time

Hours and hours of it. So give yourself a research break and get some of the answers you didn’t know you had questions to over at MakeUseOf.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Written By

As a lifelong resident and local Realtor, Vicki has established herself as a respected member of the San Mateo County real estate community. She’s known for her wit, sarcasm, and her personality that shows through in her posts. You can find her spouting off at Twitter, here at ag, and her personal blog, San Mateo Real Estate Blog.com.

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Lani Anglin-Rosales

    April 10, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    This may come as a major shocker, but I haven’t heard of this site before- thanks for finding such a good catch, I’ll add it to the ol’ feed reader!

    I love this line:

    “get some of the answers you didn’t know you had questions to”

  2. Vicki Moore

    April 10, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    lol. Great! They have so much stuff on there, it’ll take awhile to get through it all.

  3. Teresa Boardman

    April 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Honestly I don’t think agents need to know anything about technology to have a blog. Blogs are about writing.

  4. Lani Anglin-Rosales

    April 10, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Aesthetically pleasing or unique blogs need a touch of technical know-how. And even if it didn’t, isn’t technology knowledge fun?? (did my geek side just come out? get back in there, GeekLani and don’t come out until I’ve told you to!)

  5. Benn Rosales

    April 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I agree with Teresa that to be a great agent technology is not key- but your willingness to learn and research new solutions that may be of use or benefit to your consumers experience elevates you as a dedicated advocate. I do not suspect all agents will learn everything about everything, some will simply hire it out and that’s okay too. Great find Vicki!

  6. Marc K

    April 10, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    This is one of my favorite sites. I will resist my urge to chuckle in corner.

  7. Larry Yatkowsky

    April 10, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Vicki

    “The medium is the message” is a phrase coined by Marshall McLuhan meaning that the form of a medium imbeds itself in the message, creating a symbiotic relationship by which the medium influences how the message is perceived, creating subtle change over time.
    Taking time to build your own site while fun can be exasperating and debilitating. Hire a pro to help you with the medium. For a few dollars their training and experience will vastly extend and influence the message you want percieved.

  8. Vicki Moore

    April 11, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Teresa – I agree with your point about writing. But if it’s not being seen, the writing gets awfully frustrating.

    Lani – I think it’s way fun too. But like Larry said, it’s a bit much. I have to decide where I’m going to put my time: real estate or the tech world.

    Mark K – 🙂 Gotta love those brainiacs.

    Larry – You get a big “yes-sir-ree” from me. I went to a networking function the other night and realized that there are much less expensive alternatives outside the world that services realtors.

  9. Bill Lublin

    April 14, 2008 at 6:32 am

    You may not be the Queen of Geeks, but you can at least be the princess! 🙂
    Thanks for the great link – and the insght

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

AdBlocker Message

Our website is kept FREE to you by displaying online ads to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker OR subscribing to our email newsletter: https://theamericangenius.com/get-american-genius-newsletter/

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Advertisement

KEEP READING!

The American Genius is a strong news voice in the entrepreneur and tech world, offering meaningful, concise insight into emerging technologies, the digital economy, best practices, and a shifting business culture. We refuse to publish fluff, and our readers rely on us for inspiring action. Copyright © 2005-2022, The American Genius, LLC.