Social Media

Block users from seeing when you’ve viewed their Facebook message

facebook logo

Facebook can be a busy place, and sometimes, you may not have time to respond to a message, even though the sender can see that you’ve viewed the message. But don’t want to be rude, you are just short on time. There’s a fix for that.

facebook logo

Browser extension for busy people with manners

Back in the day, you could read a Facebook message and respond later when you had time, but did you know that Facebook shows others when you’ve “seen” a message? The sender may think of you as rude if you fail to respond, or delay a response after reading, be it an inbox message or a chat message.

Enter Chat Undetected, a browser extension for Chrome, Internet Explorer, and Firefox, which disables the “seen” feature, and blocks users from seeing when you’ve viewed their Facebook message.

While the browser extension offers you a chance to be polite and simply respond when you have time, critics note that it is rude to turn the feature off.

We maintain, however, that a teenager turning it off to dodge mom or dad’s notes can be construed as rude, but a professional may have two seconds to view whether a message is life or death, while not having the time to formulate a meaningful response is not rude, but an attempt at efficiency.

The browser extension can help save time and trouble, but most of all is a chance to be polite, which is nice in the fast paced world of social media.

Click here to download Chat Undetected.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Jo Soss-Olson

    December 29, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Thanks for the heads up. I had no idea. I guess I wouldn’t be bothered if they knew I had seen it and not replied yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News on the move

To Top