New feature on Google+
As seen in the video above, Google is set to allow Circles to be shared on the Google+ social network. By clicking the Google+ Circles page and selecting a specific circle, in addition to “edit” and “delete” as options, “share” will now allow users to make any Circle public, without revealing the name of the list to their contacts, nor can the public see any changes made to Circles after they have been shared.
Anyone who receives the Circle can follow some or all of the group and make their own edits, including adding a name to their new circle. Google Engineer, Owen Prater said in the video, “One of my favorite parts about circles is how they help me control who I share with, as well as what I read. In fact, many of you have created lots of great circles around topics that interest you (like Photographers) to bring lots of great content to your stream.”
Sharing Circles to boost your business
Sharing Circles in Google+ can be used by any professional to help business. Say a Realtor shares a Circle of local contacts with that whole circle with a note, “you are all valuable clients of mine and because I respect all of you, there may be some great connections to be made between you.” People usually remember who the source of referrals are, and loyalty can be won by being a connector.
Perhaps a loan officer has a Circle of new home builder sales staff and shared with the officer’s list of Realtors, a simple note of “if you’re not connected with these on-sites, Google+ is a great way to get to know each other” can be tremendously helpful.
A Realtor could share their Circle of subcontractors with their Circle of homeowners, encouraging them to reach out in their time of need. A public relations specialist could share their Circle of press contacts with their Circle of coworkers to help the firm reach out more consistently. A franchise restaurant owner could share their Circle of franchise owners with each other and encourage them to connect personally, and so on.
Think of this new feature as a way to connect others more readily and by doing so, creating synergy in the Google+ world.