Connect with us

Business Marketing

Social Media and ROI. One (more) Opinion.

Published

on

ROI


What is Social Media?

Well if social media is defined as not only blogging, but Twittering, networking on Linkedin, Facebook, Myspace, bookmarking, as well as commenting and contributing guest blogging, it could be a full-time marketing effort. But lets say it’s only blogging on your own site.

If time is the cost involved, what is time worth and it it worth putting into blogging over other marketing activities?

It’s More Natural For Some

First off, blogging definitely comes more natural to some. I am sort of a blog creeper… I read 100 times more than I write… it’s just what I do. What I don’t do often enough is write. Is that really bad? I guess you could say I am a good listener. As time passes, I see subjects come and go, whats hot and whats not. The great minds are out there sharing insights… then they debate, change, evolve and ultimately the original ‘point’ goes so deep and is debated ad nauseam (at least for this reader). When debates happen, ultimately some brilliant mind comes along and says: “People market differently and some do certain things better than others.” Then the air is released. It’s like Dale Carnegie’s bulletproof argument-killer: “I understand what you are saying, and if I were in your shoes, I probably would feel exactly the same way.”

This is the deep end of social media. Blogging, friending, debating, and supporting. But what about us mere mortals? When your goal is to gain credibility and trust from your prospects by demonstrating your expertise in a blog, then you should write. Right?

Consider This…

Here are 2 issues to consider: Do you have anything to say? Do you really have a lot to write about to your prospects? Are you new to the game? Would spreading your knowledge be like shooting yourself in the foot? If so. You are probably better off spending your time studying and reading what others write… at least for now. I have a close friend who recently broke into the real estate game, and I encouraged him to start a blog. So he did. The result wasn’t exactly what I had in mind. The first posts were salesy, thin, contained too many capital letters and exclamation points, and just didn’t have that ‘soft sell‘ tone. In other words, blogging 101 was not completed. To date he has not gotten one prospect from it. We all start somewhere, right?

This is no different than some corporation starting a ‘company blog’ and doing it all wrong. It ends up being a turn-off because they apply the old ad-copy principals and press release spin to new media. They didn’t take the time to listen before they jumped in. A turned-off prospect after time is spent writing a blog means negative ROI. This brings me to the next issue:

One of the Biggest Factors

Time is a huge factor. I have a list of books that I am trying to get through as fast as possible. I use my “free time” to read those whenever I can. I can also say that reading them is an indirect investment in my business, since they bring me knowledge I can apply in future meetings, marketing initiatives, and conversations. Is the cost of reading zero… no, I lose sleep, time with family and friends as well as time working, or working out. I know that nobody reading this would rather spend an hour writing about real estate instead of sipping a drink by the pool (YEA I’m sure you take your laptop to the pool).

We all have the same amount of time to deal with. Some “natural born bloggers” actually enjoy writing. I’m willing to bet that they can’t wait to run to the computer to jot down a brilliant thought they had in the car. And that simple thought probably turns into a 5 paragraph blog entry in a matter of 15-20 minutes. These are the people who will no doubt get back what they put in.

ROI Varies Depending on…

So ROI can vary widely depending on the person. If you are brilliant, full of ideas, ready to share, efficient, and a fast typer, blogging will probably make you unstoppable. You business will thrive based on the fact that whoever does visit your site will be blown away by your expertise and insights. If you are focused, you will most likely convert a higher percentage of visitors. And then you have the other big benefit: Traffic. The more brilliant your articles are, the more likely you will be linked to. The content you have will be indexed more often therefore you rank for more terms. The more links and the more content, the higher you climb in Google. So you get more traffic, and you convert more of it than the next agent due to your credibility. How sweet blogging is for the elite naturals.

Then there are those who either don’t have ideas, don’t have writing skills, don’t have interesting info, need more time to mull over an article, the timid, the noobs, the jerks, the corny salesmen, the ranters, industry insiders, and the off-topic bloggers, and the folks like me. There could be a negative ROI for these people. It’s not as if it cannot change… but it must be known to be addressed. I guess if you are writing 3 articles a week, seeing a fair amount of traffic, but still not converting anything… you probably need to rethink your social media approach.

How Do You Measure ROI?

We already have seen the case studies about the super blogging agents who get an obvious return on investment due to blogging. To make a catch-all statement on how much blogging can return for agents in general begs many questions. ROI in social media will build on itself. Only you can truly measure it in the end. Is there a formula for measurement? The experts are currently working on it, but so far, no dice.

We all know it’s not a total waste for everyone… but are you willing to take the steps to become better at it? That is the question.

PS: If you are still looking for a measurement strategy, you can start here.

Writer for national real estate opinion column AgentGenius.com, focusing on the improvement of the real estate industry by educating peers about technology, real estate legislation, ethics, practices and brokerage with the end result being that consumers have a better experience.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
13 Comments

13 Comments

  1. Matt Thomson

    May 30, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Interesting perspective. Often times I wish I had just sat back and listened before putting my thoughts to my name in print! I’ve found my greatest blogging success to come from my community blog. Nothing I’ve written pertaining to real estate has generated as much business as the few sentences I wrap around multiple photographs of my town. Nothing can sell Gig Harbor as well as Gig Harbor itself. A picture is worth more than 1000 words in blogging, I think.

  2. Ken Smith

    May 30, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Blogging and ROI aren’t normally in the same sentence. There are so many bloggers that feel everyone should blindly jump in and start blogging and that just isn’t true. For many blogging is the last thing they should invest their time in as they aren’t good at writing and they have other forms of very effective marketing.

  3. Julie Emery

    May 30, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I resemble wayyyy too many of these remarks. Some of us might actually prefer to be immersed in real estate rather than sipping drinks by the pool, at least most of the time. Sitting by the pool gets boring after awhile and real estate never gets boring, at least, not yet! Blogging was invented for people like me who have too much to say and too many opinions for our own good!

  4. Connie Bensen

    May 30, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Thanks for linking to my post! Metrics are a challenge but I think the more important case is that you’re experimenting & trying things. The ROI on that is invaluable.

    Great blog that you have here! Lots of in-depth info – kudos to your efforts!

  5. Jonathan Dalton

    May 30, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    One of my lenders started his own blog yesterday. We met for about 45 minutes, I have him some basic ideas and he’s off and rolling. Where will it go? Who knows … starting is easy, continuing is the challenge. But I give him credit for trying to differentiate himself.

  6. Lani Anglin-Rosales

    May 30, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Carson, I like that you’ve pointed out that blogging is not for everyone. I personally have found other social media streams to have a higher ROI than blogging, believe it or not. Blogging suits the natural writers as you noted while other streams suit natural networkers.

    Some people measure ROI by tracking conversion ratios relating to hours input while others measure ROI relating to percentages of people touched versus people closed. For me personally, it’s more of a “pass/fail” endeavor and when the dollars go down, the scales tip toward fail and the path has to change; when the dollars go up, the scales tip toward success indicating we’re on the right path.

  7. Eric- New Orleans Condos and Lofts

    May 31, 2008 at 6:32 am

    I am not a good writter but I continue to blog as part of my business plan. Doing real estate 50 plus hours a week gives me plenty of ideas and photos. Most of my blogs center aroound the photos and ideas I was thinking about that day. Its all local to New Orleans.

    Since I have a successful site that generates leads and makes plenty of money it makes it easier to blog as part of the on line plan. Its part of the job which I enjoy. Looks like I make at least $50 an hour to blog and work on the site. Just my take!

  8. Eric Blackwell

    June 1, 2008 at 7:11 am

    @Connie–Great post. Thanks to Carson for linking to it. I teach blogging (among other real estate technology stuff) to our office of 120 agents. I am going to point a few of them to your blog.

    @Carson- Yes, blogging is not for everyone. Out of our 120, about 20 have tried it and there are 3 that are turning and burning. One is kicking MAJOR LEAGUE ROI with it. It ain’t for everyone 9as Ken says…

    Eric

  9. Jennifer in Louisville

    June 2, 2008 at 9:35 am

    A lot of persons get caught up in the latest fad – blogging is becoming “fashionable” so to speak. Others are just looking for a quick fix to aid their business that seems to be dropping off. So, a great many persons are “jumping in” to the blogging community. Blogging takes a lot of effort and time. And just like some persons may make a good living off of cold calling, calling on FSBOs, or whatever – not all things are appropriate and will work for all people. The biggest priority for a blogger should be to write good quality, useful, and original content – and people will start finding their way to you.

  10. Matthew Rathbun

    June 2, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I don’t consider myself a good writer, but once I started reading other folks, I felt a lot better 🙂

    No, honestly it’s a discipline that you grow in over time and as you build confidence. I commented on another post this morning, that folks aren’t going to put effort into blogging will not see a good return; but I feel that’s true for anything you do to market yourself.

    It’s what’s “in” now, I think a good agent is utilizing today’s tools buy also keeping an eye out for tomorrows. Lots of the ideas that are shown on this and other industry blogs are just about blogging. Kelley did one on pre-closing packets. That’s a great tool for agents to start using and isn’t a widely announced item.

  11. Ken Smith

    June 2, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Eric said “Most of my blogs center around the photos and ideas I was thinking about that day.”

    Eric you take some amazing photos and that will keep visitors coming back time and time again. I have never visited New Orleans yet from the photos on your sites and blogs over the years I feel like I know the city. Keep up the amazing work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Business Marketing

The rise of influencer marketing and its effect on digital marketing

(BUSINESS MARKETING) More businesses are planning to invest a larger part of their marketing budgets on more relatable, branded content and influencer marketing.

Published

on

Influencer speaking to camera for marketing segment.

The digital age has created more savvy consumers, and the barrage of advertising on top of the plenitude of content online can be a lot. Many consumers have learned to hide ads or they simply scroll past them to their content of choice. Most business owners know that digital marketing is a crucial part of any ad strategy, and branded content and influencer marketing continues to grow in the market, because consumers see that it’s different from traditional advertising.

Hardly anything stayed the same in 2020, and traditional advertising also has shifted. Advertiser Perceptions reported on the trend for 2021, based on a survey from late 2020.

“More than half of advertisers using paid branded content and influencers say doing so is more critical than it was a year ago. Throughout the second half of 2020, 32% increased spending on branded content and 25% spent more to back influencers. They’re now putting 20% of their digital budgets into the complementary practices, which is more than they put into any other digital channel (paid search is 14%, display 13%, paid social 12%, digital video 12%).”

The benefits of branded and influencer content are that you are speaking to the consumer where they already are, when you choose an influencer. The people who follow their accounts are more likely to trust that the influencer would only share something they like or use themselves. The best matches are when the influencer marketing fits nicely into the kind of content, the voice, and any specialties they already deal with.

The word “influencer” as well as the concept rubs some people the wrong way. Marketers see the value, though, as influencer marketing can be effective if done well, and the cost to hire them is often less than a traditional ad campaign. If I want to know about food in a city, I’ll follow the hashtags until I find a local food blogger or micro-influencer whose style I like. Then I’ll seek out those restaurants when I visit. Sure, some of the meals are comped, but the truth is that food bloggers and influencers like to share their food recommendations. I have been influenced this way more than once, and not only for food. I am not alone in this, either, which is why it’s an important part of a marketing strategy.

In influencer marketing, the content creator is then given free rein to create within their own style, voice, and persona. They need to connect with their audience in an authentic, familiar way without creating a dissonance for their followers between their public page(s) and the brand. The level of trust is fairly high with influencer marketing, and many influencers realize that promoting something crappy or something outside of their area of expertise or recognition hurts everyone involved.

The power of storytelling comes into play here, as with all good advertising. Branded content is specifically all about the story, often the story of the business’s philosophy or some lifestyle aspect that goes with the brand’s vibe–or is so off that it goes viral. Some branded campaigns join into or build off of conversations already happening in the wider world. The purpose is to have people engage with the brand, with the content, build awareness, encourage conversations, sharing, comments, all with the long term goal of fostering a positive image of the brand so that down the line, they will become consumers.

Think of 2004 Dove’s “Real Beauty” campaign, based on a study showing that around 2% of women saw themselves as beautiful. The widely studied, award-winning campaign featured women of all backgrounds and body types, without airbrushing and Photoshopping them into a narrow vision of “beauty.” While some people hated it, many loved it and applauded the brand for treading into traditionally uncharted waters. Among haters, fans, and people who weren’t sure what to think, the Dove Real Beauty branded content campaign generated conversations. The campaign also encouraged women to feel good about themselves and lift up other women. One could argue that the campaign you could argue that the Real Beauty campaign was a forerunner to the currently popular body positivity movement, which started gaining traction around 2012. Dove increased sales by at least $1.5 billion in the first ten years the branded content campaign ran.

The goal of branded content is to raise awareness of the brand, but the path from point A (creating the content) to point B (brand awareness, ultimately leading to better sales) is not a straight line. Brands are paying attention to grabbing attention, aka building brand awareness via more upper funnel marketing than lower funnel.

One thing that marketers are looking for now, however, is almost eliminating the funnel. With the mind-boggling increase in e-commerce since the beginning of the pandemic, clickable sales capability becomes important in any kind of marketing, including influencer and branded content. It pays to listen to customers, to find an influencer who meshes with your brand’s purpose, and to create thoughtful branded content that isn’t out of line with your core product or service.

Continue Reading

Business Marketing

Need design help? Ask a Designer offers free peer-review for better design

(BUSINESS MARKETING) Good design is more than just slapping some fonts and colors together. Ask a Designer promises free design advice on their new website.

Published

on

A white sign in an urban setting reading "In Design We Trust" with glowing yellow lights above.

With the necessity to create and maintain an online presence for our businesses nowadays, content creation is essential. One impact this proliferation of content has had on entrepreneurs, bloggers, and small businesses is that many non-designers have had to take a stab at design work. Sometimes this works out for the amateur designer, but often it could be better: More effective, accessible, and appealing. This is where Ask a Designer comes in.

Creating designs online can be fun, but your average Canva, Squarespace, or WordPress user, for example, has no more of a sense of design than the man on the moon. Design work encompasses so much more than just slapping some words on a stock photo and calling it a day. While there are truly incredible and helpful free or inexpensive DIY design and business tools out there, nothing beats the power of knowledge and experience.

Ask a Designer provides one more level of professional review and counsel before a business owner puts their DIY (or even paid) design work out there for the world to see—or worse, not see. As a writer, I have always valued editorial reviews, comments, and feedback on my writing. Second eyes, third eyes, and more almost always serve to improve the content. It makes business sense to get as much feedback as possible, even better to get expert feedback.

For example, an experienced web designer should have a good idea of how to incorporate and test for UX and UI purposes, thus making the user interaction more functional and pleasant. A skilled graphic designer knows what colors go together for aesthetic appeal, accessibility, and even the psychology behind why and how they do.

Take logos. Pick a color, image, and font you like, and go for it, right? I’m afraid not. There is a lot of data out there on the science and psychology of how our brains process logos. There are examples of logo “fails” out there, as well. Consider the uproar over AirBnB’s logo that many thought evoked genitalia. Or the raised eyebrows when Google changed their color scheme to one similar to Microsoft’s palate. Just search for “logo fails” online to get an idea of how a seemingly innocent logo can go horribly wrong. I haven’t linked them here, because they would need a trigger warning, as many of the worst examples can be interpreted as some sort of sexual innuendo or genitalia. Searchers, be warned.

It always makes good business sense to use professional designers when you have the option, just as it makes sense to use professional writers for copywriting and professional photographers for photography. After all, if you have the chance to get something right the first time, it saves you time and money to do so. Rebranding can be difficult and costly, although sometimes rebranding is necessary. Having a designer review your design (whether logo, WordPress, blog, or other) could possibly help you from missing the mark.

How does Ask a Designer work, and is it really free? It’s super easy—almost like designers had a hand in it! Know what I mean? First, you go to the website or app and enter your question. Next Ask a Designer will assign your question to the appropriate type of designer in their network. Within 48 hours, they’ll get back to you with feedback or an answer to your design question.

While Ask a Designer is available to anyone to use, the website suggests it is especially helpful for developers, teams, junior designers, and business and product owners. They suggest, “Think of us as peer-review in your pocket.” The team at Ask a Designer will provide feedback on specific projects such as websites, logos, and portfolios, as well as answer general questions.

Examples of questions on their website give a good idea of the scope of questions they’ll answer, and include the type of feedback they provide. Sample questions include:

  • “How do I choose colors for dark mode?”
  • “I’d love feedback on a logo for a restaurant.”
  • “I’m an industrial design student and I’d like to move into automotive design. What are some resources that can get me to where I need to be?”
  • “Please send me some feedback on [website link].”
  • “How can I use my brand fonts on my website?”
  • “I’m a full stack software engineer. Are there any resources you could suggest for me to level up my design or UX skills?”

Ask a Designer is new, and so they currently list 2 design experts, each with 20 or more years of experience in their fields. They promise to add more “desig-nerds” soon. It may sound too good to be true, but from what they state on their website, this expert design review service is free. Considering the other excellent tools out there with some free components out there for business, it is possible that this is true. Whether they will add a more in-depth paid version is yet to be seen. In any case, it’s worth trying out the app or website for your burning design questions and reviews.

Continue Reading

Business Marketing

6 tips to easily market your side hustle

(BUSINESS MARKETING) It can be hard to stand out from the crowd when you’re starting a new side hustle. Here are some easy ways to make your marketing efforts more effective.

Published

on

side hustle marketing

Side hustles have become the name of the game, and especially during these turbulent times, we have to get extra creative when it comes to making money. With so many of us making moves and so much noise, it can be hard to get the word out and stand out when sharing your side hustle.

Reuben Jackson of Big Think shared five ways that you can market your side hustle (we added a sixth tip for good measure), and comment with your thoughts and ideas on the subject:

  1. Referrals: Don’t Be Afraid to Ask!
    If you’re going to make a splash, you have to be willing to ask for favors. Reach out to your network and ask them to help spread the word on your new venture. This can be as simple as asking your friends to share a Facebook post with information that refers them to your page or website. Word of mouth is still important and incredibly effective.
  2. Start Where You Are
    Immediately running an expensive ad right out of the gate may not be the most effective use of your (likely) limited funds. Use the resources you do have to your advantage – especially if you’re just testing things out to see how the side hustle goes in the real world. You can do this by creating a simple, informational landing page for a small fee. Or, if you’re not looking to put any money into it right away, create an enticing email signature that explains what you do in a concise and eye-catching way. Check out these tools to create a kickin’ email signature.
  3. Gather Positive Reviews
    If you’ve performed a service or sold a product, ask your customers to write a review on the experience. Never underestimate how many potential customers read reviews before choosing where to spend their money, so this is an incredibly important asset. Once a service is completed or a product is sold, send a thank you note to your customer and kindly ask them to write a review. Be sure to provide them with links to easily drop a line on Yelp or your company’s Facebook page.
  4. Be Strategic With Social
    It’s common to think that you have to have a presence on all channels right away. Start smaller. Think about your demographic and do some research on which platforms reach that demographic most effectively. From there, put your time and energy into building a presence on one or two channels. Post consistently and engage with followers. After you’ve developed a solid following, you can then expand to other platforms.
  5. Give Paid Marketing A Shot
    Once you’ve made a dollar or two, try experimenting with some Facebook or Twitter ads. They’re relatively cheap to run and can attract people you may not have otherwise had a chance to reach out to. Again, the key is to start small and don’t get discouraged if these don’t have people knocking your door down; it may take trial and error to create the perfect ad for your hustle.
  6. Go Local
    Local newspapers and magazines are always looking for news on what local residents are doing. Send an email to your town/city’s journal or local Patch affiliate. Let them know what you’re up to, offer yourself for an interview, and give enticing information. The key is doing this in a way that your hustle is seen as beneficial to the public, and is not just an ad.

Continue Reading

Our Great Partners

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Emerging Stories

Get The American Genius
neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to get business and tech updates, breaking stories, and more!