Connect with us

Opinion Editorials

Today’s Fortune Cookie says Go Do

Published

on

having a good idea


Today’s lunch brought a reminder that I need to get moving on those good ideas. Coincidentally, this afternoon and tomorrow, I finally have more than half an hour to myself to work on some stuff. 

Project One? The Contact Management System (CMS).

This year, I’m trying out Prophet, by Avidian.  I’ve done Act and Top Producer and didn’t like them at all.  I’ve been using the “I Have An Excellent Memory System” but we’re quickly coming to the limits of that.  Time to get some of these task reminders out of my head and into a system, so there’s room to remember the important stuff.  Like, for example, remembering to buy toothpaste on the way home.

My beef with Top Producer and Act was twofold: I didn’t find either interface intuitive, and I didn’t like having to open a separate application to manage all the stuff that goes on in my Outlook anyway.  Big priorities for me in a CMS are tight Outlook integration and automatic scheduling of predefined sets of tasks.

So far, Avidian’s Prohpet fits the bill.  When a new person emails me, I can click a button, add them to the contacts, create an opportunity, assign them to a follow-up schedule, all the fun stuff you use a CMS for, and it’s all in one place.  I spend my day in Outlook anyway, and my Treo syncs to it nicely.  So far, so good.  Now I must train myself to continue to use it and keep tweaking it to do exactly what I want.

Project Two? The Website Redesign.

Oy.  This is a big project.  Between managing a busy business, a fur-filled household, and ever lengthening rehearsals for an upcoming performance, I’m starting to get overwhelmed.  Since I’ve got a couple other people tied into this project, I need a share-able, online, project management service. 

I looked into the 37 Signals stuff, but don’t see the Gantt chart capability that I want – that’s my preferred view.  If I’m missing that somewhere in there, please someone tell me!  I can use MS Project, but I loose the online sharing.  Google docs, are you listening?

Well, I can get moving on Project One, anyway.  I don’t have time to completely conquer the world today, but I can get started.

What’s the good idea you need to Go Do?

Kelley Koehler, aka the Housechick, is usually found focused on her Tucson, Arizona, real estate business. You may also find her on Twitter, where she doubles as a super hero, at Social Media Training Camp, where she trains and coaches people on how to integrate social media into successful business practices, or at KelleyKoehler.com, a collection of all things housechick-ish. Despite her engineering background, Kelley enjoys translating complex technical concepts into understandable and clear ideas that are practical and useful to the striving real estate agent.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
8 Comments

8 Comments

  1. Kelley Koehler

    March 4, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    My bad – Customer Relationship Mangement. CRM, not CMS. The new website is part CMS, so I need to get my CRM going to focus on… oh, forget it.

  2. Andy Kaufman

    March 4, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I’m in the middle of an all around upgrade myself.

    I’ll admit that my database is in shambles. Contacts are all over the place. Just scanned all my business cards in (thanks @bradcoy) and I’m looking for a place to put them. Thinking of giving RealFutureCRM a whirl.

    Same thing with online project management – Tried basecamp, tried private Ning network, both with limited success. Didn’t know about Gantt charts and now I want those too. (thanks Kelley;))

    Looking forward to a break from real estate to mix it up with the geeks at SXSW & to refocus for Q2, which is rapidly approaching.

    & for the record… CMS, CRM, C??… don’t forget about CMB – https://youtube.com/watch?v=H3MOXUxaf8c

  3. Mike Mueller

    March 4, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Kelley –
    I’m just tickled pink you have an Alienware Laptop!

    Ok, on the Project Management I’ve tried but didn’t like,
    https://www.dotproject.net/
    and
    https://www.phprojekt.com/

    Both have your Gannt Charts but just didn’t work fly like I wanted them to.
    I’m using Google Docs but as you know it’s ok at best.

  4. Brad Coy

    March 5, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Love web-based storage and business applications these days.

    Re; https://www.37signals.com/ Have not kicked around basecamp too much but have worked Highrise CRM for around 8 months now and it works for me. Love what these guys are doing. Plays well with Google apps as well.

    https://box.net/ Has been another new fav I’m a big fan of. Lot’s of great bells and whistles like shared folders, links to folders, and a growing number of “open social” platforms that lets you do more with your files.

  5. Matt Collinge - the 604homesguy

    March 5, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Kelly, I am using TP and getting tired of it (4+ yrs later). I used it to manage my email which is fine when I am in front of a PC, but because its in TP I can’t get in on phone, even in TP Mobile. This is no longer acceptable to me. I do like how it saves a record of email to client’s history automatically.

    I have even considered using Google Calender, but haven’t looked into it enough to know if it is powerful enough. I looked at Prophet recently so its good to hear some feedback on it. I’ll chekc out Highrise as well.

  6. Carson

    March 5, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I am currently using basecamp to manage a website redesign, and I love it. I also use Highrise for my new CRM tool, which I have never been able to use regularly until now. I’ve never seen a Gantt chart on Basecamp, and that would be a great addition but I really like the simplicity basecamp offers. My number one criteria was web based and simple.

  7. Kelley Koehler

    March 5, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Interesting responses, guys, thanks.

    I am Gantt Chart Girl – afraid it’s a must-have item for me. Too many years with the ol’ dorky engineers, I guess. I looked at Basecamp, created an account, futzed around a bit. There’s lots of potential there, but all I really really want is the Gantt.

  8. Bob Fortner

    March 21, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Just signed up for the free version of Highrise. So far, so good. I’ve used TP, Outlook, Online Agent…. didn’t like any of them. My big thing now is anywhere access. Using Google Calendar and Gmail and both sync to my Blackberry.

    The Mobile Gmail app is great. All my email on my BB, the same as on my laptop or desktop. I can search by any word in an email and be looking at the email my BB is seconds. Google Docs with the Firefox extension is great too!

    Highrise looks really promising. Simple CRM available almost anywhere. Now if I could just find a mobile version to get my info on my Blackberry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Opinion Editorials

Strong leaders can use times of crises to improve their company’s future

(EDITORIAL) In the COVID-19 crisis, some leaders fumbled through it, while others quietly safeguarded their company’s future.

Published

on

strong leaders

Anthony J. Algmin is the Founder and CEO of Algmin Data Leadership, a company helping business and technology leaders transform their future with data, and author of a new book on data leadership. We asked for his insights on how strong leaders can see their teams, their companies, and their people through this global pandemic (and other crises in the future). The following are his own words:

Managers sometimes forget that the people we lead have lives outside of the office. This is true always but is amplified when a crisis occurs. We need to remember that our job is to serve their teams, to help them be as aligned and productive as possible in the short and long terms.

Crises are exactly when we need to think about what they might be going through, and realize that the partnership we have with our employees is more than a transaction. If we’ve ever asked our people to make sacrifices, like working over a weekend without extra pay, we should be thinking first about how we can support them through the tough times. When we do right by people when they really need it, they will run through walls again for our organizations when things return to normal.

Let them know it’s okay to breathe and talk about it. In a situation like COVID-19 where everything was disrupted and people are adjusting to things like working from home, it is naturally going to be difficult and frustrating.

The best advice is to encourage people to turn off the TV and stop frequently checking the news websites. As fast as news is happening, it will not make a difference in what we can control ourselves. Right now most of us know what our day will look like, and nothing that comes out in the news is going to materially change it. If we avoid the noisy inputs, we’ll be much better able to focus and get our brains to stop spinning on things we can’t control.

And this may be the only time I would advocate for more meetings. If you don’t have at least a daily standup with your team, you should. And encourage everyone to have a video-enabled setup if at all possible. We may not be able to be in the same room, but the sense of engagement with video is much greater than audio-only calls.

We also risk spiraling if we think too much about how our companies are struggling, or if our teams cannot achieve what our organizations need to be successful. It’s like the difference in sports between practice and the big game. Normal times are when leaders game plan, strategize, and work on our fundamentals. Crises are the time to focus and leave it all on the field.

That said, do not fail to observe and note what works well and where you struggle. If you had problems with data quality or inefficient processes before the crisis, you are not fixing them now. Pull out the duct tape and find a way through it. But later, when the crisis subsides, learn from the experience and get better for next time.

Find a hobby. Anything you can do to clear your head and separate work from the other considerations in your life. We may feel like the weight of the world is on our shoulders, and without a pressure release we will not be able to sustain this level of stress and remain as productive as our teams, businesses, and families need us.

Continue Reading

Opinion Editorials

7 sure-fire ways to carve out alone time when you’re working from home

(EDITORIAL) It can be easy to forget about self-care when you’re working from home, but it’s critical for your mental health, and your work quality.

Published

on

Woman in hijab sitting on couch, working from home on a laptop

We are all familiar with the syndrome, getting caught up in work, chores, taking care of others, and neglecting to take care of ourselves in the meantime. This has always been the case, but now, with more people working from home and a seemingly endless lineup of chores, thanks to the pandemic. There is simply so much to do.

The line is thinly drawn between personal and professional time already, with emails, cell phones, and devices relentlessly reaching out around the clock, pulling at us like zombie arms reaching up from the grave. Working from home makes this tendency to always be “on” worse, as living and working take place in such close proximity. We have to turn it off, though.

Our brains and bodies need downtime, me-time, and self-care. Carving out this time is one of the kindest and most important things you can do for yourself. If we can begin to honor ourselves like this, the outcome with not only our mental and physical health but also our productivity at work will be beneficial. When we make the time to do things we love, our mind’s gears slow down that constant grinding. Burnout behooves nobody.

Our work will also benefit. Healthier, happier, more well-rested, and well-treated minds and bodies can work wonders! Our immune systems also need this, and we need our immune systems to be at their peak performance this intense season.

I wanted to write this article because I have such a struggle with this in my own life. I need to print it out and put it in my workspace. Last week, I posted something on my social media pages that so many people shared. It is clear we all need these reminders, so I am paying it forward here. The graphic was a quote from Devyn W.

“If you are reading this, release your shoulders away from your ears, unclench your jaw, and drop your tongue from the roof of your mouth.”

There now, isn’t that remarkable? It is a great first step. Let go of the tension in your body, and check out these ways to make yourself some healing me-time while working from home.

  1. Set aside strict no-work times. This could be any time of day, but set the times and adhere to them strictly. This may look like taking a full hour for lunch, not checking email after a certain hour, or committing to spending that time outdoors, reading, exercising, or enjoying the company of your loved ones. Make this a daily routine, because we need these boundaries. Every. Single. Day.
  2. Remember not to apologize to anyone for taking this me-time. Mentally and physically you need this, and everyone will be better off if you do. It is nothing to apologize for! Building these work-free hours into your daily schedule will feel more normal as time goes on. This giving of time and space to your joy, health, and even basic human needs is what should be the norm, not the other way around.
  3. Give yourself a device-free hour or two every day, especially before bedtime. The pinging, dinging, and blinging keep us on edge. Restful sleep is one of the wonderful ways our bodies and brains heal and putting devices away before bedtime is one of the quick tips for getting better sleep.
  4. Of course, make time for the things you absolutely love. If this is a hot bath, getting a massage, reading books, working out, cooking or eating an extravagant meal, or talking and laughing with a loved one, you have to find a way to get this serotonin boost!
  5. Use the sunshine shortcut. It isn’t a cure-all, but sunlight and Vitamin D are mood boosters. At least when it’s not 107 degrees, like in a Texas summer. But as a general rule, taking in at least a good 10-15 minutes of that sweet, sweet Vitamin D provided by the sun is good for us.
  6. Spend time with animals! Walk your dog, shake that feathery thing at your cat, or snuggle either one. Whatever animals make you smile, spend time with them. If you don’t have pets of your own, you could volunteer to walk them at a local shelter or even watch a cute animal video online. They are shown to reduce stress. Best case scenario is in person if you are able, but thankfully the internet is bursting with adorable animal videos, as a backup.
  7. Give in to a bit of planning or daydreaming about a big future trip. Spending time looking at all the places you will go in the future and even plotting out an itinerary are usually excellent mood-boosters.

I hope we can all improve our lives while working from home by making time for regenerating, healing, and having fun! Gotta run—the sun is out, and my dog is begging for a walk.

Continue Reading

Opinion Editorials

The one easy job interview question that often trips up applicants

(EDITORIAL) The easiest interview questions can be the hardest to answer, don’t let this one trip you up – come prepared!

Published

on

Women sitting nervously representing waiting for a remote job interview.

A job interview is tough, and preparing for them can seem impossible. There are some questions you can expect: what is your experience in this position? How would you handle this situation? And so on.

bar
But what about this question: what makes you happy? Though it may seem straightforward, getting to the right answer is not such an easy path.

Work engagement

According to research, less and less employees feel like they are truly engaged at work. Some blame the work environment but truth be told, it is not a company’s responsibility to make you happy.

Without a passion for what you are doing, you will never enjoy the job.

It is the best case for everyone. More engaged workers are more productive in addition to feeling like they serve a purpose.

Do your due diligence

So before finding yourself in an interview where you have to take an awkward pause before answering this question, the best thing is to do some research. It all starts with the job search.

When looking for a job it is easy to get caught up in high profile company names and perks.

For instance, although “Social Media Coordinator” may not be your thing, the position is open at the cool advertising agency downtown. Or perhaps the company offers flexible hours and free lunch Fridays. The problem is that these perks aren’t worth it in the long run. Working for a cool company can be exciting at first, but it is not sustainable without passion for the position.

It’s important to pay attention to is the position you are applying for.

Is this work that you are passionate about? Take a look at the job responsibilities and functions. Besides figuring out if those are things that you can do, ask yourself if they are things that you want to do. Is this an opportunity that will match your strengths and give you purpose?

Let your passion protrude

With all things considered, when asked “what makes you happy” at the next interview, you will be able to answer honestly. Your passion will be apparent without having to put on an act.

Even if they don’t ask that question, there is no downside to knowing what makes you happy.

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Our Great Partners

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Emerging Stories

Get The American Genius
neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to get business and tech updates, breaking stories, and more!