Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The American GeniusThe American Genius

Social Media

Facebook finally (kind of) deletes deleted photos from servers

The world is enthusiastic that Facebook is closing a loophole in their system, but the loophole has a 30 day loophole. Nice.

facebook photos

facebook photos

Yes, I want to delete that picture!

AG reported in February that photos deleted from Facebook by users were not being permanently deleted, rather they were being stored on Facebook’s servers, only gone from the Facebook interface. Anyone with the permalink to the actual image could still share the photo, which Facebook blamed on their cache system.

“We have been working with our content delivery network (CDN) partner to significantly reduce the amount of time that backup copies persist,” Facebook said early this year, but it has taken them six months to finalize any sort of solution that is highly improved, as the company has announced a new CDN to help solve the problem.

Now, when a photo is deleted by a user, Facebook will immediately delete it from Facebook’s pages and also delete the image from their servers, but the process still has lag time. It can take up to 30 days for the photo to be removed from the content delivery cache, so anyone with the permalink to the actual image will still have access to the deleted photo, but only for a limited time.

Closing the loophole in the loophole? Maybe later.

The company says that later this month, a new, optional photo protection scheme will be launched, offering more privacy options to users. The news of the new CDN is an improvement, but not a full solution, as the potential 30 day window can still cause damage to users, raising more privacy questions that the social networking giant seems to have grown deaf to over the years.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Many cases of people losing their jobs or clients have been documented and traced back to photos posted on Facebook, and while they can be deleted and not found by the average user, anyone who right clicked and opened an image in a new tab has the permalink, and access to that image for up to a month, which is unacceptable, given that “delete” means “delete.”

Perhaps the “delete photo” button should say “kind of delete photo?”

Lani is the COO and News Director at The American Genius, has co-authored a book, co-founded BASHH, Austin Digital Jobs, Remote Digital Jobs, and is a seasoned business writer and editorialist with a penchant for the irreverent.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: 18 Ways To Make The Best Of Your Twenties | Bitcoin Digital Currency Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The
American Genius
news neatly in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list for news sent straight to your email inbox.

Advertisement

KEEP READING!

Social Media

Social media censorship has been a hot topic across the board, but now the federal court upholds free speech rights in TX by law.

Tech News

Creeping, stalking, checking...whatever you call it, we all do it. Here's how to look at a LinkedIn profile privately.

Social Media

(SOCIAL MEDIA) Social media has evolved from being only community-oriented to career-oriented. See how users are getting jobs by being creative.

Business News

Maybe this won't come as a surprise, but the statistics sure are telling- having depression and social media usage are linked.

The American Genius is a strong news voice in the entrepreneur and tech world, offering meaningful, concise insight into emerging technologies, the digital economy, best practices, and a shifting business culture. We refuse to publish fluff, and our readers rely on us for inspiring action. Copyright © 2005-2022, The American Genius, LLC.